Weekly Summary (Feb. 27 – March 5)

Running:

Peak mileage week with a decent long run on Saturday.

  • Sunday: 3 mile run, 30 min cycle, 3 mile run.  Just to mix it up, I inserted my cycle into the middle of my run.  For this ride, I decided to push hard up hills and really work my quads.  7.32 miles cycle
  • Monday: Easy five miles in the woods.  I decided to run in the woods today in order to rest my calves, which are a little sore from running barefoot on Saturday.  I finished my run right before a massive storm blew in and found the changing weather entertaining.
  • Tuesday: Tempo run.  2 x (15 min @ T pace with 10 min rest).  I felt strong during this run, but my achilles/calves are still bothering me a little. 8.50 miles
  • Wednesday:
    • Morning:  Early morning cycle…covered about 8 miles and got in some last minute studying for my physics and literature tests.
    • Afternoon:  Very easy 4 miles.
  • Thursday: 4 miles easy.  Half of my run was on the street and the other half was in the woods.  I went a little faster than I should have, but I should be fine for Saturday.  No pain in my achilles/calves :), yet felt some general body fatigue.
  • Friday: 2 miles easy…recovery in preparation for Saturday’s long run.
  • Saturday: 16 mile hilly long run on a golf course.  I didn’t really know what to expect from this run, but I knew it would take some focus.  I consciously pushed on the uphills and really felt my legs burn.  Concerning my achilles/calves, I did feel my left achilles for the last part of my run, but other than that I was fine.  The real magic occurred in my cool-down routine.  Once I got home, I immediately grabbed some Ultragen and jumped into an ice bath.  After 14 minutes of soaking, I put on my calf sleeves (I ran in them too) and hopped on the trainer for a 30 minute ride.  I can’t believe how good my legs felt later that day…absolutely incredible.

Elevation Graph from my 16 mile long run


Feed Clippings:

  1. Time For Fossil Fuel Companies to Pay Their Fair Share:  Rethinking America’s energy subsidy strategy.
  2. Global Food Prices Hit New Record High:  Still, food prices are on the rise.
  3. Benefits of Clean Air Act Rules to Reach $2T, EPA Says:  In light of the recent GOP attacks on the EPA’s budget, here is some data on how much the Clean Air Act has helped America
Leave a Reply

